Pages - Menu

vendredi 21 novembre 2014

Dayton's Kendall Pollard gets technical for... dunking too hard?


The refs apparently would've preferred he let go of the rim and break several vertebrae.


Dayton stormed back from a 7-point deficit to tie it up with UConn in the first half of their Puerto Rico Tip-off semifinal game, and after a Kyle Davis block at one end, Kendall Pollard finished a fast break with a thunderous slam! Exciting! But... he got called for a technical:



The call is for pulling himself up on the rim, which is a rule put in place to prevent showboating. But it really doesn't look like Pollard was showboating -- he still had a ton of momentum, and needed to steady himself. If he'd let go, he would've fallen backwards onto his neck, and that probably wouldn't be very good! He's also trying not to kill his teammate, Devon Scott, who passes under him for a second there.


We already disagree with this rule, because we endorse any and all showboating, but we *especially* disagree with it when it's poorly applied.


UConn hit both free throws and the two squads went into the half tied. Not helpful as the Flyers try to pull the upset.






from SBNation.com - All Posts http://ift.tt/1v4bmnb

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire